Fear and writers

One of the hardest things for any writer to do (at least the ones that I’ve associated with) is to let someone read a rough draft.

sorry

Roughs are always full of repeated words (Forcing herself not to slam the door, she instead carefully eased the door on its hinges.), poor dialogue, and badly constructed sentences.

This presents a challenge for authors like me. I don’t see the point in wasting energy cleaning up a chapter just to delete it a few weeks later when I realize that it doesn’t work.

Therefore,  I have to be brave enough to let people read the not-so-great work. I can only hope that they can read the plot and will not be bothered by the less-than-polished prose that surrounds it.

This is about as tricky as it sounds. You run a real risk of people shooting down a viable idea because you used the word ‘wall’ too often in a paragraph and haven’t fixed it yet.

i don't like it

Like most writers, I have a few go-to betas, who can see the gold while also pointing out the dross. But they are few and far between. And often busy working on their own stuff.

So I have to open up and trust other people.

neil-gaiman-shrieks-with-glee-o

Yes, I’m getting work done on Red Witch.

No, it hasn’t been easy or fun.

b1204-braveannoyed

Oh!  There’s also a new comic up!

 

Leave a Reply

