Reluctance

I’m on an editing mission.

Hedge Doctor comes out in June, so I’ve started polishing Last Call in earnest. The first few stories needed to be prettied up, but the fourth one… this one was a pain to write, and it needs a lot of work.

There are scenes that have to combined, characters to refine, more stuff to cut, endings to smooth. It’s a frankensteined story and it shows.

It’s going to be a lot of work, and frankly… I don’t wanna.

Yes, I want to make the story better, but this is sooo much work! Editing is my least favorite part of writing. It’s much, much, much harder than creating the story in the first place.

I’ll get it done, eventually. I signed up for 50 hours of editing, and that means 1.6 a day. And I know what I have to do to fix this story.

I just have to make myself sit down and do it.

This is really like studying for finals as a senior. You know, you know, what to do and how to do it. You know the test is coming. You just have to sit down and do it.

And I don’t wanna.

2 thoughts on “Reluctance

Leave a Reply

