Work and Play

Several of my writerly friends consider me to be…. a touch of a workaholic when it comes to writing.

And maybe I am .

Today for example, I have to finish drafting a contract, and then start whipping out scripts. (I’ll tell more about that project soon!)

I also spent the week rereading one of my old works, editing some new stuff, and working on my second novel. All while cooking, cleaning, and taking care of my kids.

It’s not so much about being busy. I just like having stuff to occupy my mind. It keeps me out of trouble.

I’m also a HUGE fan of deadlines. Set them, meet them, feel accomplished, and then move forward.

I am, however, going to schedule in a little more play time soon. I’ve been writing with virtually no break for a few years now. The project that I mentioned above will really help with the taking a break thing. I know it sounds counterintuitive, but it’ll make sense soon.

For now, I think I may snuggle up with my youngest and nap. It’s cold and I’m waiting to hear back from a friend regarding… stuff I can’t talk about right now.

It’s time to make a little more time for play.

Leave a Reply

