I C Summer Blog Tour

 

My friend, DL Hungerford tagged me for this great blog tour from I C Publishing (www.ICPublishing.ca). Thanks so much, D! I always love talking about writing. Please visit her blog! She’s the best group leader, EVER!

  1. Share how you start your writing project(s). For example, where do you find inspiration? Do you outline? Do you jump right into the writing? Do you do all of your research first?
    Well… umm… I’m a little all over the place. Sometimes ideas just come to me. Sometimes, talking with my friends and beta readers about the characters gives me ideas. As for how I write… that’s really up in the air. Sometimes, yes, I outline, and sometimes I just jump in, because I know I have a decent story. As for research, I tend to leave that for last.
  2. How do you continue your writing project? i.e. How do you find motivation to write on the non-creative days? Do you keep to a schedule? How do you find the time to write?
    Motivation is simple, if I want to sleep, I keep writing. My brain needs to be engaged or it keeps me up all night.
    I’m slightly more scheduled during the school year, but I have to be then.
  3. How do you finish your project? i.e. When do you know the project is complete? Do you have a hard time letting go? Do you tend to start a new project before you finish the last one?
    Oof. I dunno. Mostly, I know it’s done when I stop getting ideas from critiques. Once it’s nothing but the grammar geeks (bless their hearts), I know it’s ready.
    I have multiple projects running all the time, because I self-publish. So I have the finished series that I’m promoting, the series I’m polishing to get it ready for publishing, and the series after THAT, which I have to start really editing soon.
    4. Include one challenge or additional tip that our collective communities could help with or benefit from.
    My favorite tip ever is (to quote Neil Gaiman): Remember: when people tell you something’s wrong or doesn’t work for them, they are almost always right. When they tell you exactly what they think is wrong and how to fix it, they are almost always wrong.
    A lot of people can’t wait to tell you what is wrong with your work. Take what they say with a grain of salt always.

    This has been great fun! I hope more of you will want to jump in and participate in this tour. Here are the two great writers and bloggers who agreed to carry the torch from here:

Amelia Bishop is a reader and writer of romantic erotic fiction of all varieties. Sometimes, the little stories her head just need to be shared. She  enjoys red wine, black rum, shell-hunting walks along the seashore, and solo late-night drunken dance parties.
She also a very sweet person and talented writer. Check out her blog.

Gina Drayer is an avid reader, writer, and Ubergeek. As a Navy brat, Gina has traveled extensively and has lived all over the country, but now hangs her hat in Indiana. Currently she spends her days running the family’s Home Health Agency and Women’s Cancer Boutique and her nights creating fantastic world. She writes gripping, fast paced thrillers with a magical twist and steamy contemporary romances. Her stories are centered around strong, witty, independent women facing situations that test their will.

One of my first writing buddies, and a serious talent. You can find her here.

Please drop by and say hello to these talented writers, and help us spread the tour far and wide!

 

 

Leave a Reply

