Both a blessing and a curse

I’m pretty sure that I have ADD. I know, I know, self-diagnosis is THE most obnoxious thing ever, but my oldest has been professionally diagnosed with ADHD, and my parents often chuckle when I tell them stories about his day, and usually find a similar story about me. So I think I’m on safe ground when I say I probably have a similar condition.

Over the years, I’ve learned to more or less control it. Some days, yeah, my brain is flying a mile a minute and there’s no rhyme or reason to my madness. Most days, I can bring that energy to focus, and I get a truly amazing amount of stuff done.

I am, not bragging here, a hugely prolific writer. In the last year, I have written 172,451 words of story, and that includes the unfinished Camp Nanowrimo project. I have at least another 15k right there. I didn’t add in anything I wrote on the cuff for forums or any scenes that I have hidden away for future use,  just the actual words written for stories.

Do you have any idea how hard it is to get people to help me with that much story? It’s part of why I write novellas and shorts these days. It’s way, way easier to edit and proofread 10k than 100k. And there a lot less guilt involved when begging my friends to reread the same short three or four times, than rereading my entire novel… again.

There are times though, even I am overwhelmed.  I’m getting there this month. I have a ton of little things I should be doing on ebooks (update the back page info, fix spacing stuff for smashword’s premium catalog…), as well editing for Monsters of Pittsburgh (September 8th is closer than ever, even if I do have the covers done.), but instead, I’m writing another three stories.

On the other hand, I’ll have a year’s worth of stuff to publish when Camp is over…

 

 

Leave a Reply

