Me? I chose the road…

That I usually travel. Though to my credit, I’m usually on my own.

Okay, let me explain this, now that I’ve seriously misquoted Frost. Yesterday, I had a dilemma. I had a plan for these Jeff stories, but I got what felt like a better idea. Unfortunately, it would easily add an extra few thousand words.

I’m already running over word count, and while most people whittle away the first draft, I tend to add to it. My first drafts rarely have description and only have the most bare bones action sequences.  I don’t add the good stuff until I know that I have a solid plot.

Despite all of that, I’m going with the new idea. I’d rather have a story that’s 30% larger than I planned, than one that could be better.

 

Leave a Reply

