So I got some writing done

Just not the story I had intended to work on.

Saturday night, more than a little buzzed, I got in a discussion with some folks about the second Monsters of Pittsburgh story. The middle is sagging, and every single critique has said so.

I cut 800 words and still got the critique that there was too much drama and it moved too slow. So what to do? A few people said they’d read it, and I put it out of my mind.

I woke up Sunday, poured a cup of coffee, opened Jeff’s story, and promptly started rewriting that section of Monsters.

I’m really happy with the results, but this does leave me with what to do about Jeff’s story. If I can’t get substantial work done on it this week, I think I’m going to give it up. I like the concept but it’s already giving me terrible stress, and I don’t need any more of that, especially since I need to switch over to publishing mode soon to get read the omnibus edition of Uncommon Animals ready.

Leave a Reply

