Blog Hop: My Writing Process

Apparently, I AM supposed to be a part of this. I got tagged by not just Ripley Nox, but Jesse Pearle and Gina Drayer. Sorry ladies, my head has been directly up my ass the last few weeks. So without further making of excuses, I shall Blog Hop!

writing_process_blog_hop

 

1) What am I working on?

Lots and lots of stuff. I’m prolific, both a blessing and a curse.  Lately, I’ve been working on my werewolves in Pittsburgh stories. These are short stories and novellas that tell a much larger tale, like a tv series or a comic book. The first series is Uncommon Animals. Today, I’ll be proofreading the crap out of the story I’m publishing tomorrow, The Hunt at the Haunt, the sixth of seven.  After I do that, I’ll start drafting the finale for the second series(again seven stories), Monsters of Pittsburgh, while proofreading  the finale of the first.

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I think its the character development and story continuity. The change in Mina and Matty as the stories continue is dramatic and the actions in one story have ripples, they are brought again and again as they affect different characters in different ways.

3) Why do I write what I do?

Because I like it. I set out to write straight up fantasy, but kept ending up with vampires and werewolves and witches. So I figured, why fight it? I tend to have more fantasy than most Urban Fantasy, though. I have my morally gray characters, but I also have more noble heroes.

4) How does my writing process work?

More like, how doesn’t it work? I can’t say that the process is the same for every story. Sometimes I have a written outline. Sometimes the story forms perfectly in my head, every scene complete. Sometimes I have a scene or line of dialogue or a concept that I just know I hang a story on without planning ahead much. And only once, I was so possessed by a story that  couldn’t do anything but write it, no eating, barely sleeping, the whole nine.

But after that first draft is splatted out, it’s straight to the chopping block. Every plot needs to be refined. There’s always stuff that just doesn’t work and it needs to be found and replaced. My betas are killer for this.

Once I have the plot perfected, I go and pretty it up, refine the dialogue, cut all the unnecessary commas, add the description, and completely rewrite those bastard fight scenes.

Then since I can’t afford an editor, I go begging for proofreaders. I might do a few rewrites in this stage as well. Sometimes fixing up the grammar refines scenes so well that I can cut other scenes, and the next thing I know I’m completely rewriting the ending. This is a good thing, but it does mean more begging on my part.

I keep proofreading until I publish.

Because of my publishing schedule I currently have eight stories in these  various stages. They range from 3,000 word short stories to 22,000 word novellas.

So why not write novels you ask? Because it’s much easier to refine and proofread shorter works. Especially when I’m still asking for help, instead of paying for it. I can get a friend to reread a 10,000 word short story for a third time. It’s much harder to get that kind of beta reading on a full length novel.

And that’s my hop. I tagged my ladies yesterday and above, but I want to add to that, Amelia Bishop. If you love a good paranormal romance she’s the lady to look up.

And Susan Boesger. Like myself, Susan likes a little more fantasy in her Urban Fantasy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

